What always stays

What always stays

What always stays is not the footprint,
but the warmth of feet on wet sand.
Even after taking off the aged ring,
just the stark outline of the wedding band.

What always stays is not the fragrance,
but the recollection of a familiar scent.
Even though people turn into photographs,
they are always present in our present.

What always stays is not emptiness,
but blanks filled with moments abound.
Even though the loving voice is now silent,
the joy remains in the memory of the sound.

What always stays is not loneliness,
but the gift of someone’s precious presence
Even though we unvalued them while they stayed,
we regret their lifelong disappearance.

©2023 Taruchaya.

Author: Taruchaya

I'm the vast azure sky...I always look up very high. I'm the indefatigable air...my mark is present everywhere. I'm the water of ocean and sea...you just can't live without me. I'm the unrestrained fire. I'm a secret desire. I'm the ineffable earth. I'm ineluctable since birth !!

5 thoughts on “What always stays”

Leave a comment