Echoes

Echoes

The calling bell rang through the hallway…
only commotion of sounds stayed.
Amidst the beeps of machines,
no footsteps approached the room.
The night wasn’t dark but long…
bright light seeped through the door.
The woosh of heavy breathing merged
with the hiss of decreasing oxygen.
And the constant coughing burned the lungs,
or whatever was still struggling to work.
A spectrum of tiny lights crisscrossed the room.
The smell of medicines and soiled dishes –
the unkempt beds wet with sweat and tears.

Darkness isn’t scary, nor the long night.
The scariest feeling is to die alone…
without saying goodbye…
leaving without the last glimpse of life-
without a chance to even contemplate
over the regrets, remorse or celebrations…
without the last warm touch of little hands.
The smiles that made your day- the wet lips
or the tight hugs resonating strong heartbeats.
Somewhere in the mind the echoes remain,
reminding how precious this time is- the present.
To make memories or to take memories…
when the journey finally ends!

©2021 Taruchaya. All rights reserved.

Author: Taruchaya

I'm the vast azure sky...I always look up very high. I'm the indefatigable air...my mark is present everywhere. I'm the water of ocean and sea...you just can't live without me. I'm the unrestrained fire. I'm a secret desire. I'm the ineffable earth. I'm ineluctable since birth !!

3 thoughts on “Echoes”

    1. I find it hard to pull myself back to the present…at times my mind wanders back and it still sends shivers down my spine…people died in front of my eyes so being alive seems like a privilege…a blessing.

      Like

Leave a comment